Because of the contradictions that have arisen in our predominantly heterosexual society, gender has been at the centre of many discussions. Religious beliefs, personal experiences, cultural education, social environment and many other factors are included in the equation as the stratification and rejection of gender roles and classes in our society come full circle in an attempt to move forward in space in the name of equality. Although it has not yet been reached, the location has been significantly reduced. Anna Fausto-Sterling once wrote about the role of the sexes in our society in her book Sex in the Body, in which she says that our bodies are too complex to provide clear answers to sexual differences. The more we look for a simple physical basis for sex, the clearer it becomes that sex is not a purely physical category. The physical signals and functions we define as masculine or feminine are already confused in our ideas about gender.

Gender roles are among the topics that are still massively discussed in society: professional differences, the ideological agenda, class formation and universal acceptance. Women, once despised for not being as intelligent and strong as men, are now on the same level as men when it comes to employment and social roles. LGBT communities move freely to express their views on issues that have a long-term impact on our government and our daily lives. As the LGBT community in our educational system grows, information and knowledge about gender and gender becomes relevant and current, because people learn that gender is not just about homosexuals and heterosexuals. A concrete example of this information, for which many people do not yet have a real scholarship, is the information on intersexuality. You may be aware that an intersex person generally has an atypical definition of his or her physical body, which cannot immediately be classified as male or female. A more pejorative term used by many to define their nature is hermaphroditic, a being with both male and female genitalia. We have little access to their stories and little information about the difficulties they face in their society.

Jose Henrique Tiglao’s first feature film after two short films from Cinemalaya reveals the history of intersexuality. Metamorphoses observe the periodic development of intersexuality in an environment where access to information is minimal, because identity and existence are blurred for the ruling mind, and the implicit need to belong to a certain social circle stifles the mind of a person who no longer knows where he or she stands with the truth about himself.

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.png

Adam (Gold Azeron) lives in a God-fearing Christian home with his mother Helena (Yayo Aguila) and father Edgar (Ricky Davao), who have become famous ministers in their region for holding a series of glorious and liturgical sessions in the courtyard. Despite this upbringing, Adam engages in typical school jokes almost daily and closes the head of his equally violent classmate, whom he calls soup in a humiliating way (Dylan Ray Talon). In the middle of the school year, a newcomer to his high school, Angel (Iana Bernadez), becomes the object of his desire. They build intimate relationships through the simplest school projects, return from school every day and explore the community and all the beautiful landscapes it contains. One unexpected day Adam discovers that he has two genitals when he sees that he has his period. At the beginning of such a discovery, he is at war with his identity and gender, he is uncertain about the truth behind his whole being and eventually becomes an adult.

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.jpg

The biggest question that arises when making a film about a subject with extremely sensitive content and information is whether the film should be seen in a more traditional way. Without a sufficient basis for the concept of a possible film orientation, Tiglao was given more freedom to express the reality of the struggles of intersexual people and to show how the discovery of their true nature affects their families, loved ones and environment. Finally, the story of the film is laced with contradictions (plagiarism, where the poster of the film was made in 2016, when the film was said to be the main offer of Cinemalaya, allegedly belonging to the artist Chiara Aimé; intellectual property, where the previous title of the film – Maselang Bahaghari – coincides with the title of the song of the Filipino band Eraserheads; censorship, where the film was made by the X. Philippine Media Classification Commission at the time of its first review). Far from controversial, Tiglao respected the delicate content in his hands and created a tribute to the intersex community by telling such a sincere and honest story, supported by the prismatic cinematographic work of Tey Clamor (who has worked on some of the most beautiful films), filmed this year), such as Babae in Baril and Isa Pa, with feelings), using colors and aspect ratios to show the beauty of Adam and the divine score of Divino Dacunas, and to give Adam an atmospheric feeling of how he comes with age.”

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/1604318123_212_Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.png

If the film can be accused as a formula, melodrama and nose in the story of Adam’s sexual awakening, then the film exposes his heart by showing Adam’s physiological and psychological development, because the discovery of his sex leaves him to choose. While the universe somehow dictates everything he has to do, from undergoing surgery to escaping from a newly discovered part of his being, he goes through life with a mask of indifference, uncertain about what the present and the future will bring him. Gold Azeron wears a mask without vibrating band. Azeron conveys his character as if he himself had survived the battle between the sexes; he never hesitated to carry the role on his shoulders, and although this is only his second film, after 2016 Lando in Bugoy Vic Acedillo turned out to be a tough actor.

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/1604318123_255_Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.png

The film is not only about sexual awakening, but gives a clear picture of the difference between the mentality of people in the 90s and the mentality of people in the 21st century. At a time when people’s understanding of gender and identity has broadened considerably, while on the film set people were bound by limited ideals, which in most cases prevented them from embracing the idea of equality. For example, circumcision is currently a prerequisite for all young people to be considered adults, otherwise one of them will be subjected to an attack of shame. Another example is Adam’s physical condition. Despite the fact that Adam had two genitals, he was tested and forced to accept only one gender, because the existence of two genders goes beyond the biblical doctrine that many people, especially in remote areas, regard as the dominant ideals of the masses. With two objects of desire personified as an angel and his endocrinologist, Dr. Tolentino (Ivan Padilla), who instead served as an educator of the truth to intersex people, Adam was forced into an existential crisis, not knowing which side of the spectrum his true feelings belonged to and not knowing whether to trust the feminine or masculine side. At first, Adam cannot say what he really feels and becomes what he really wants to be; his life is dictated by his father’s pastor, who claims to know better. Like many intersex people who have had to go through hell or water to make their voices heard, Adam becomes the victim of himself, of the society in which he lives and of his peers. In Adam we see ourselves ascending through the ashes, flying like a beautiful butterfly in a glass container, waiting to be set free.

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/1604318123_934_Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.png

The average life expectancy of butterflies is one month, and in the film we see Adam burying one of the many butterflies he cared for. This means that a person is constantly changing and evolving over time. The cycle of butterfly metamorphosis is similar to that of human development, starting as hollow vessels and then becoming the type of person we are today. Part of us dies in the process: Beliefs, aspirations, beliefs in life, etc. With death comes the birth of another being, another part of our life, that goes through the same cycle as a butterfly. We resemble butterflies because, like the unique patterns that cover the facade of their physical existence, we also base our inner and outer beauty on the experiences and circumstances that shape us and make us what we ultimately become.

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/1604318124_73_Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.png

The real suffering of the film is the lack of feeling in the script. While the film was able to convey its powerful message, Tiglao and his co-author Bou Dabou could have made some of the film’s key moments more memorable, but instead relied on a dialogue full of screams that turned those highlights into an exercise in tears and mockery. One of the scenes in the film shows Adam’s conversation with Dr. Tolentino, in which they just talked about how beauty can serve its purpose in a society full of beauty and gender norms. Another scene shows Adam’s parents asking what kind of sauce he prefers to eat and coming back with a combination of soy sauce and vinegar (an ordinary couple like fish and chips or bread and butter in the Philippines). If the crucial scenes in the film had been interpreted with more subtlety, it would have been possible to see a better development of the characters, not only in Adam, but also in the other people involved in his life.

http://31.220.61.170/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/1604318124_871_Cinema-One-Originals-2019-Review-Metamorphosis.png

The metamorphoses are like post-impressionist paintings; the film sparkles and glows with light and colour, and pours its magic into the viewer to convey its message of love and acceptance to everyone, no matter who or what you really are. Metamorphosis is Tiglao’s love letter to an unacceptable, useful and inspiring community that prides itself on making love win against all odds, yet has lost and missing voices in this cursed world. The film speaks well of humanity and all its remarkable flaws. If we recognize these flaws in our lives, we end up like Adam: naked, vulnerable, free, but never afraid.

Relative

bulaklak sa city jail buod,dekada '70 novel,bulaklak sa city jail full movie,desaparecido at bulaklak sa city jail,dekada '70,bata bata paano ka ginawa,bulaklak sa city jail summary,bulaklak sa city jail analysis,bulaklak sa city jail book pdf,bulaklak sa city jail cast,bulaklak sa city jail buod ng bawat kabanata

You May Also Like

‘The Walking Dead: World Beyond’ 1×07 Review: “Truth or Dare”

Last week on Walking Dead… Out-of-world findlings were cheated to help a…

Live on Stage! –

Because I love musicals as well as Sponge Bob (I grew up…

Mirzapur Season 2 Episode 2 Review: Khargosh –

In the discussion of episode 1, I talked about the amount of…

Every Movie & TV Show Releasing In November 2020

In November 2020, HBO Max will release a large number of films…